In this blog post, we will learn about the 7 Chakras and their meanings, locations, colors associated and healing.

You are probably familiar with the terms “third eye” and “root” if you have taken yoga lessons. Yogis frequently discuss the need of grounding through the base or concentrating on the third eye.

There is, however, much more to learn about chakras, and this information may aid in the development of your yoga practice, awareness, health, and overall wellness.

Let us have a look at the seven chakras, their locations on the body, the symbols they represent, and the chakra colors. This article provides an overview of chakras for novices in an easy-to-understand manner. We will discuss each chakra in greater detail in subsequent posts.

Beginner Guide to 7 Chakras and its Meaning

Chakra, often spelled Cakra, is a Sanskrit term that translates as “wheel” and refers to the body’s primary energy centers. The chakra concept was originally mentioned in India’s Vedas between 1500 and 500 B.C.

Although other yogic writings suggest that there are 88,000 centers, the seven primary chakras are frequently mentioned. These seven energy centers run the length of the spine, from the crown chakra to the tail bone (root chakra). As the term (wheel) indicates, the chakras are supposed to be energy-spinning wheels.

Each of the seven chakras will have its own character (a lotus flower with various petals) and is related with a specific color, stone, or other element.

7 Chakras and its associated color, stone, Location

Chakra colors and positions on the body are used to represent the seven chakras. Furthermore, crystals or gemstones, as well as essential oils, can aid in the restoration of each chakra.

Root Chakra:

The root chakra is the center of stabilization and foundation. It is located at the base of the tailbone. It is the point of equilibrium between above and below, and a clog can make all parts of life realize out of balance and/or risky.

Location: Base of the Spine

Color: Red

Stone: red jasper, onyx, black tourmaline

Sacral Chakra:

The sacral chakra, located between the reproductive organs, is symbolic of creative thinking, vitality, passion, and desire.

Location: Lower Abdomen

Color: Orange

Stone: orange calcite, peach moonstone, sunstone, Goldstone

Solar Plexus Chakra:

Solar Plexus Chakra is associated with self belief and strength. A barrier in this area can show as a sense of powerlessness or superiority.

Location: Upper Abdomen

Color: Yellow

Stone: Citrine, amber, golden calcite, pyrite

Heart Chakra:

The Heart Chakra, which is located above your physical heart, manages your flow of energy. It sticks to pain and love and possesses an incredible capacity for healing (and loving) oneself and others.

Location: Center of the chest

Color: Green

Stone: pink tourmaline, rose quartz, ruby, rhodochrosite

Throat Chakra:

The Throat Chakra is located directly above your physical throat. This energy point represents what we convey and how we interact. Are you capable of communicating your reality and knowledge in a genuine and compassionate manner?

Location: Throat

Color: Light Blue

Stone: Aquamarine, turquoise, amazonite

Third Eye Chakra:

Instinct, awareness, and intelligence all exist in the third eye. A blocked third eye can emerge as uncertainty and a lack of certainty, whereas equilibrium results in increased awareness and understanding.

Location: Between the eyebrows

Color: Blue

Stone: Lapis Lazuli, azurite, blue aventurine

Crown Chakra:

The crown chakra, located at the very top of your head, symbolizes your spiritual relationship to the almighty. When the crown chakra is healthy, you have a sense of connection to the world around you.

Location: Top of the Head

Color: Violet

Stone: purple fluorite, selenite, charoite


As we above read about the 7 Chakras and their meaning. If you are also interested to activate your all chakras or want to unblock them, you can join our yoga classes.

You can also join our 200 hour yoga teacher training in Rishikesh.